World War II “Kissing Sailor”- Glenn Mc Duffie dies at 86


In what is considered as the most iconic pictures of all time, the young sailor seen kissing a nurse is actually no more, he was 86. The said picture was taken by famous Life magazine photographer Alfred Eisenstaedt on V-J Day.

World War II Kissing Sailor Glenn Mc Duffie dies at 86-global-annal-bhavesh-kumar

McDuffie was 18 when he admitted to the fact that it was him in the famous kiss photo with nurse Edith Shain.

“I heard someone running and stopping right in front of us. I raised my head up, and it was a photographer,” McDuffie told the Houston Chronicle in 2007. “I tried to get my hand out of the way so I wouldn’t block her face, and I kissed her just long enough for him to take the picture.”

Source: Chron

Leave a Reply

