Meet the young Australian actor from Leonardo DiCaprio’s teen counterpart in “The Great Gatsby”


The 18-year-old Australian actor who played the teenage part for Leonardo DiCaprio’s role in The Great Gatsby, Callan McAuliffe, is on the verge of achieving something big. The reason why we are saying this is because today the news broke (via The Hollywood Reporter) that McAuliffe had bagged the lead role in “Our Robot Overlords,” a sci-fi thriller co-starring Ben Kingsley and Gillian Anderson. Although some people may recognize him from the 2011 big-screen adaptation of Pittacus Lore’s “I Am Number Four,” however “The Great Gatsby” is his most prestigious project till date. So how did how felt when he came to know he is going to play DiCaprio’s counterpart?

Meet the young Australian actor from Leonardo DiCaprio’s teen counterpart in “The Great Gatsby”-global-annal

“Obviously I’m very nervous because it’s pretty big shoes to fill, but I was more than ecstatic inside,” McAuliffe told MTV News during “The Great Gatsby” premiere in New York. As McAuliffe doesn’t resemble DiCaprio, a makeover became imminent to establish similarity between them.

Meet the young Australian actor from Leonardo DiCaprio’s teen counterpart in “The Great Gatsby”2-global-annal

“They gave me blue contacts. They gave me long, blond straight hair. That was a pain in the ass for the next couple of months because I wasn’t allowed to cut it in case we did pick-ups, so I was walking around with a blond mop on my head,” McAuliffe recalled from the days of The Great Gatsby’s shoot. “But nonetheless, I’m sure there was a little bit of CGI in there somewhere; there has to be. I mean, come on. I looking nothing like the guy, but even still, I’m very grateful that [director] Baz [Luhrmann] went out on a limb and cast me as this character because I certainly wouldn’t have.”

Source: Cinema BlendMTV.comNew York Times

 

Leave a Reply

